Posted by: runsinthefamily | January 26, 2011

Challenges for the new year

I got through my first 20 this past Saturday, whew!  2 more 20s to go, and this week is “only” a 16 miler, yay! ( I alternate 16 and 20 now, until taper.)

One of the BQ ladies on the RW Marathon Race Training forum, FitFirmFast, see her blog here,  has a post on her blog about a recent article in Running Times.  Did any of you see it?  I did, and read it with interest.  The article, New Year, New Challenges in the Jan/Feb issue, ( can’t find the article online, but here tells about it)  lists 5 major goals/challenges to think about doing this year.

1.Run Your Fastest mile of the last 5 years

2. Run a 100 mile week

3. Run every day of the year

4.Do 60 pushups

5. Improve your hamstring flexibility by 20 degrees.

Which would you choose?  I actually think it would be great to try all of them, but the one I really want to do the most is the first one, run my fastest mile of the last 5 years.  Actually, since my times have been slow lately,  I think I can do it!  So that is my goal for this summer and early fall, ( well, okay, it may take me all the way to October to do it.  I need those cross-country speedwork sessions Coach E has us do!).  So come back on say, October 15th to see how I did!

I am actually close to working on number 3 right now, my last day off was January 5th!  I am debating whether to take today off or not, my legs are still tired from the 20 miler on Saturday.  However I might also just go out and run for a super easy 3 miles!  What do you think?  What would be the least amount I could run and still count it towards my mini-streak?

Have a great day!  I am reading My Life on the Run by Bart Yasso, book review coming soon!

Responses

  1. Nice job on your 20 miler, always a milestone no matter how many times you’ve done it. I read that Running Times article too – you know, my thoughts on it are that I already have goals in mind for the year that motivate me sufficiently, and when that’s the case I find it best to avoid any distractions that take your training in a different direction or, even worse, risk injury. However, one of my goals is to finish the 100 Push Ups program, so clearly aligns with that.

    • Hi Greg! I think when these goals mesh with ours, it would be fun to try! Or else save for a time of year when I’m not doing so much marathon training. The hamstring flexibility would probably help us all!

      Plus I thought of another one – to be able to do a pullup/chinup.

  2. Just found your blog! Keep up the great work! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

