Posted by: runsinthefamily | January 10, 2011

sixteen and birthday week!

Sunday I ran 16 on the treadmill.  It wasn’t nearly as bad as it sounds, although I was definitely counting down the miles at the end.  It’s nice having water, food, and a bathroom right there if I need it!  I did take a minute or so break after 1 hour to drink and eat part of my peanut butter and honey sandwich, ( it seems better in my stomach than gels) and then after that a break after another 45 minutes, then finally one after another 30 minutes – then I made it to the end.  I kept the pace very easy – 9:49-10 minute pace, ( I varied it a bit) – and the result is that I’m not sore at all today!

I ran a nice and easy 4 miles recovery run tonight, and while my legs were definitely tired, they really felt pretty good.   The rest of this week will probably have about 6 miles each day, although I would like Wednesday to be 8 miles, but time may prevent that this week.  Tuesday, Thursday and Friday will be with the high school team, and their finals start on Friday, so they should be some wacky runs!  Wednesday I have an appointment with Dr. Tim Keyes, for some ART,  which should help with the tightness that even the foam roller hasn’t been able to work out ( or else I’m just a wimp when it comes to my ITband!).   DS#2 had an appointment with him today, and he did a fantastic job working on DS’s knees, which have been giving him problems this winter.

Tomorrow night DD#1 and I are going to see the Hood-to-Coast movie!  IF you haven’t heard of it, check out the website here.  I have always heard about this relay, so it will be neat to see what it is like.

Then,  Saturday is my birthday!  And another 16 miler!  ( and probably on the treadmill, since we are supposed to get more snow).

Have a great week everyone!

Edited to add:  Does anyone know how to insert a video?  I tried to insert the info for the movie trailer, but it isn’t working.  I was able to insert a youtube video before, so I’m not sure what I am doing wrong!

Responses

  1. Nice job on the treadmill 16! I agree that it’s nice to have a nearby bathroom. I hope you enjoyed the movie!

    • Thanks Elizabeth! The movie was fun to see- a little different than I thought it would be, really neat.

  2. WOW 16 miles on the treadmill. That is such an accomplishment, I can barely run 6 on it!!

    • Lauren, thanks for visiting! With my ipod and a tv on, it’s not so bad. At least better than slipping and sliding on the snow and ice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

