Posted by: runsinthefamily | January 2, 2011

Trying for the Light

Today was a better run.  I was still a bit sore and tired from the 14 miles on Friday, and it was brrrr- cold today! 25° and windy – but the sun was shining.  I wasn’t fast, and my legs still felt stiff, but compared to Friday, things were definitely looking up.

That is what I hope 2011 will bring for me – at Mass today Fr. Tom gave a homily on being a child of the light rather than one of darkness – basically, on being a happy, a positive influence on the world around you, instead of giving in to pessimism, darkness, and fears.  This year was definitely one of darkness for me, family problems, injuries, and then my Dad’s stroke – and especially lately, I’ve let the negative forces in my life influence me way too much.  It seemed that just when life could not get any worse, well, it did.

It is time to turn my face towards the sun, and begin again.    I’m going to try my best to see the glass as half full, not half empty, and to try to mitigate as much as possible the darkness that still surrounds me.   Hopefully running can help with that.

Responses

  1. What a positive outlook Connie! I know you can do it! Hope your dad is healing well. Good job getting back out there after your disappointing run the other day. I can totally relate!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

