Posted by: runsinthefamily | December 31, 2010

2010 in review

ugh- I had a horrible run today to end 2010.  It was WARM today in Cleveland, so I moved my long run to today.  I guess that was a big mistake.  Yesterday I cut a run short because I just felt exhausted, and although I got extra sleep last night, I just felt bone-tired right from the start.  Finally took a couple of walking breaks, then tried to run it in – but started to feel nauseous and light-headed.  So the 16 miler turned into 14, and now I’m trying to rest up for New Year’s eve!

2010 started off great – I had a great cycle of training for Boston, running more 20 milers than ever before, and just felt great – until race day.  Although my time wasn’t what I had hoped for, Boston was an awesome experience – and now I want to go back!

After Boston came injury time – the one running injury I had not had yet decided to make itself known- plantar fasciitis.  Of course I tried to keep running – which may or may not have been a smart idea.  It did eventually go away – but my training over the summer pretty much sucked.

Fall brought cross-country, and although I usually practice with the team, the PF meant taking it a little easier.  A family crisis led to a couple of weeks off, but I was able to slowly come back and start to build mileage again.  I decided to register for the Shamrock marathon, and started marathon training – just in time for winter!  I was happy to be back running again, when my dad had his stroke – running has been a great stress release.

Hopefully 2011 will turn out better.  I did not make my mileage goal for 2010, in fact my mileage is almost exactly the same as 2009 – 1568.16 for 2010 – 1577.82 for 2009.  I would like to get this higher, and crossing my fingers for no injuries this coming year!

 

Thanks google images

 

Responses

  1. Even though you didn’t meet your mileage goal, you still ran a good amount! Sorry about the injury, and I hope you stay injury free for 2011!

  2. Thanks! I hope so too!

  3. Happy New Year! Here’s to a year ahead w/ good health and lots of PRs 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

