Posted by: runsinthefamily | August 4, 2010

running again…

Yes!  I am running, not too much, but enough to feel like a runner again!  I can still feel my foot, but it is definitely on the mend, the PF and resulting weird muscle tightness is on its way out.  I’m being very careful though – when it feels like I’ve run too much I stop and walk the rest of the way home.  I’ve been able to work up to 3+ miles(!), and have been running 2 days in a row, then taking the third day off… until today.  Woohoo!  3 days in a row!  It really helped that my youngest started cross country practice yesterday, since her team is a K-8th grade team, the parents run with the kids and the first two weeks are all about getting the kids back into running after a summer off ( some of the older kids run over the summer, but most of the younger ones don’t).  So it’s been two days of running, walking a bit, running, stopping for a water break,  then some more running.  I was worried the stopping and starting again would be hard on my foot, but the running is fairly easy, I can run on grass if I want, so it just has not been a problem at all.

All of which is great because….on Sunday DS#2 and I leave for cross country camp!  Ever since Coach E started coaching at the high school, he has taken the girls team, and the past few years convinced the boys coach to bring them too.  It’s in southern Ohio, very hot, but the cabins are air-conditioned, and we do lots of running, team bonding activities, swimming, hiking, canoeing,  even an awesome zipline!  It is loads of fun, I went as a parent helper the first year, then after being asked to be an assistant coach I’ve gone back every year since.  I am really glad the foot is feeling better, because while I can opt out of the speedwork or daily run if I have to, there is still a lot of walking around the campgrounds, so the foot will definitely need to be up for that.

Here’s a taste of where we will be for camp, Camp Kern.  Check out the Ozone, the awesome zip line!


Responses

  1. So glad to hear your foot is feeling better and you have been able to run some! Have a great time at camp! I remember doing that when I ran cross country in high school. I loved it!

  2. So glad to hear your foot is feeling better and you have been able to run some! Have a great time at camp! I remember doing that when I ran cross country in high school. I loved it!
    +1

  3. We love having Coach E and all the great runners here at camp! Keep inspiring us all with your runs in this blazing heat!


Leave a Reply

Categories

