Posted by: runsinthefamily | June 29, 2010

Tuesday means…track workout day!

The weather turned beautiful today, cool, a slight breeze, and low humidity!  It was such a great break from all the HHH weather we have been having ( HHH= Hazy, Hot and Humid).  A perfect day to go to the track workout for the Second Sole running group.

You may remember last week, the track workout irritated my PF to no end.  It has been feeling better, I’ve been faithfully wearing the Sock, stretching, taking ibuprofen, using the arnica gel, doing foot exercises – and my foot has been feeling better.  The PF is by no means gone, but it has “calmed down”, and I am back to running!  (knock on wood).  I’m still thinking of calling up my ART guy to see if there is anything he can do – my foot feels really good when I keep stretching out those calf muscles, so I’m thinking a good stretch out will probably help.

I’m really hoping to be able to be more consistent now, instead of the run one day, take two days off scenario.  I would like to start marathon training soon!  I’m not sure how many weeks I have until October 10th, but I’m thinking if I cannot be more consistent for the first couple weeks of July, I may have to adjust my marathon date.  There are definitely more marathons later than October 10th, but with cross country season, I would like not to have to travel to a marathon.  I know there is one in early November in Elyria, which is supposed to be flat, on a bike path, with little spectators (hmm- that could be good or bad).  I will have to look at the date though, because it possibly could be the morning after the cross country state meet!

So.  Today’s track workout was definitely more a strength workout, which plays to my strengths!  I love doing the longer intervals.  We warmed up for a mile, then ran 3 times 1 mile at 10k pace, with a 200 meter jog in between.  Since I am not positive what my 10k pace is right now, I thought about aiming for 7:45s – but my first mile was 7:26,  and it felt good – hard, but good.  Next mile – my first 400 was slower, but I must have picked it up – because I hit 7:25.  Last mile was the best yet – the breeze was getting stronger on the back stretch, so I thought I was slowing – but 7:18!  Yay!  Take that, PF!

The next part of the workout was a 4- 5 minute break, the 2 times 1000 meters ( 2 and a half laps).  It was supposed to be at 5k pace, but I had problem switching gears, and was a little worried about my foot, although it felt fine.  So first one was 4:20, jogged a 400 for recovery, then the last one ( with a stiff wind this time on the back stretch!) was 4:30.  Oh well –  a mile recovery, and I was done!  There is no better feeling than knowing you are done with a hard workout, and sitting down to stretch and relax on a beautiful summer evening.

Total (counting the recovery laps) 6.75 miles.

Responses

  1. Great job out there Connie! So glad the foot didn’t give you problems today! There is a marathon in Elyria? Wow, I am impressed! I was honestly shocked to even find a 5k being held in Elyria this summer!! 🙂

  2. If it’s the one I am thinking of “The Murray Ridge Cetner Inland Trail Marathon” then it is on October 24, 2010.

    • Jodi, yes, that’s it! I thought it was the first weekend in November other years. That still gives me a little bit more time though. Do you know anything about that bike path? I read comments on marathonguide.com, and a mom I know from here ran it and did well, it sounds pretty flat.

  3. I don’t however, I have a friend that is very involved with the event. I will send him and email and see what I can find out. Part of me wants to run the marathon there but I’m planning to run the Detroit 1/2 Marathon on October 17th. Probably not the best idea…

    • Well, I think they have a shorter race also… or am I wrong? Yeah, a half the week before a marathon probably is not a good idea! Unless you are going to turn into a Marathon Maniac like Betsy! ( EDRW)

  4. They have a 1/2 and a 5K I do believe. Yeah, I think I will stick to running Cleveland next year. I am the type of person that needs to finish what I started where I started it and I am already signed up! In the meantime, I will just continue running 1/2 marathons with my friends. We are crazy and think it would be fun to run a 1/2 marathon in all 50 states! Marathon maniac…not so much…I have to finish one first! LOL Go Betsy!!!

    • LOL- half marathon maniac then! I think it would be lots of fun to do either a full or a half in all the states! The head coach of the teams here is doing that – he and his family just got back from a trip to Alaska, where he ran the marathon!

  5. Great job on the track workout! Hope you continue to run without PF problems.


Leave a Reply

Categories

