Posted by: runsinthefamily | June 26, 2010

Strassburg!

And, in the spirit of the name of this blog, I was going to post my crew report from my brother’s Western States 100 race in 2005. But I can’t find it. 😦 It might be saved on our older computer, I will check tomorrow. Western States Endurance Run is the Boston of ultras, well, even harder ( much harder!) to get into because you not only have to qualify, but you also have to be one of the lucky ones picked in the lottery. More on that tomorrow! This is Western States weekend, and it looks like an exciting finish is brewing right now. For the finish line video, go here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/western-states-2010-finish

For info about the run, go here: http://ws100.com/home.html

Responses

  1. So you bought the sock! Let me know whether it helps and whether it is annoying to wear. I’ll see if I can find a copy of your race report and send it along.

  2. Ooh – wore it last night. Yes, slightly annoying to wear, but I guess I was tired enough once I was asleep I was fine. When I woke up I actually thought it was hurting, but then when I took it off and walked around my foot felt much better than other mornings. I went to run at the trails today with the high school girls, and I did take ibuprofen before running which I don’t like to do, but my foot was fine for 6 miles, and even now feels pretty good. So weird as it is, I will probably wear it again tonight, and see if it helps my foot feel good enough to run again tomorrow.

  3. Glad that it seems to be helping Connie. That’s great! I have this strange pain on the bottom of my left food. Like right below my toes. I have no idea what it could be. I just keep stretching and icing. It doesn’t hurt when I’m running until I am several miles into it. Like today, it ached a little bit around mile 9 of 10. Any ideas what it could be?

    • Hi Jodi,

      I don’t know, it doesn’t sound like plantar fasciitis, because it seems like that is mostly by the arch or the heel. Hopefully it’s no big deal, and will get better with icing! You could take ibuprofen afterwards, because that is supposed to help with inflammation too – I’ll try to look in a couple of my running books tonight and see if I can find anything! We’re supposed to be getting thunderstorms soon, so we’re about to shut our computers down for a bit!

  4. I don’t think it is plantar fasciitis because I had that in high school and this pain is completely different and it doesn’t hurt during the day really. Just usually after my longer runs. Thanks so much for checking into it for me. I appreciate it. We got those thuderstorms you are talking about. Thankfully they have passed now!

    • Jodi, I was just looking, and I’ve found things like Morton’s Neuroma and Metatarsalgia ( not sure I spelled that right). Also a metatarsal stress fracture – yikes, I hope it’s not that. Google those and see if the symptoms match. Hope that helps a little~

  5. Thanks Connie. I will check it out. I hope it isn’t a stress facture either. I would think it would hurt more than it does though…like all day, you know?

  6. I just googled all of them and none of them are what I am dealing with. It is actually lower on my foot like the pad between my toes and my arch. Does that make any sense? Maybe I should take a picture? HAHA!!

  7. Yes, I definitely think a stress fracture would hurt quite a bit more, probably more achy all day too. So it’s probably something else. Maybe just one of those things that will heal on it’s own – let’s hope!


Leave a Reply

Categories

