Posted by: runsinthefamily | March 26, 2010

March Madness

This week has been a little bit crazy. First of all, the weather. Really, snow? Really? And windchills? After a coldish Monday, with a track workout that included 2 miles of striding the straightaways, recovering on the turns – ( and tweaking my right hammy again, but not badly, just a minor twinge), Tuesday was a bit better, Wednesday was near perfect ( sunny, 50s- of course, took that day off!) and then Thursday. Thursday was madness! Rain, changing to snow as we were running! Cold wet, slushy, rainy, snow! Ugh. I came home completely soaked and cold. It was actually fine while we were running, but once we stopped; brrrr.

Overnight the slush hardened, so when it was time to run this morning I opted for the treadmill at my parent’s house, for a nice and easy 12 mile run. Youngest DD had a orthodontist appointment and a birthday party to go to this afternoon, so I knew I would be late for practice. Most of the team had a nice and easy run today, we are doing a tempo run on the track in the morning. ( yes, we practice on Saturdays – at least the distance crew does). Today was the last day of school before their spring break, and we are going to be missing a lot of kids to vacations, band trips, and college trips! Coach E is going to have most of the practices next week at 9am, which means that unfortunately I won’t be able to come ( lucky guy, he is a teacher, so has the week off also – unlike me!). It works out okay for me though, since it will be my last week of high mileage before starting my taper for Boston.

Oh – and I got my packet pick-up card and welcome booklet from Boston in the mail today! It’s coming fast!

Responses

  1. This weather is crazy! Seriously, is Mother Nature playing a cruel joke on us? It is spring and don’t you know that the temperature tomorrow at race time is going to be 28 degrees (feels like 21). You have got to be kidding me! I have to wear full on winter running gear for tomorrow’s 5k! Geez! Please let it be warm already! And that is awesome about your Boston stuff in the mail!!

  2. Jodi, thanks! I hope your race went well this morning! I’ve been having trouble accessing your blog – I don’t know why. Maybe you are updating? I’ll try again later.

  3. I am getting ready to update my blog right now. I actually finished 6th woman overall. Unfortunately they did they age groups in groupings of 10 years which I find very odd!!! I ended up being 4th in my age group. I would have been third had it been 35-39 and not 30-39. I have to be happy thought because I ran a 23:01 which is a PR by 1:07.


Leave a Reply

Categories

