Posted by: runsinthefamily | March 21, 2010

Oh, what a beautiful day!

This has been just a gorgeous, beautiful week!  Although I had a minor meltdown a few days ago, wondering if my training was going to be enough, I had a GREAT 20 mile run outside(!) on Friday.  Really, really great.  It was just perfect temperature, I ran a 12 mile route nice and easy, just cruising, stopped for some gatorade, ran a 5 mile route, getting a little tired, but the sun was shining, birds were chirping, ( seriously, there were a lot of birds singing!  I don’t think I’ve ever heard so many) and then after some more gatorade, I ran the last 3 miles, and even managed to pick up the pace on the last mile ( just wanting to be done at that point!).  I felt great the whole time, my feet hurt a little at the end, but not as much as they have – could it be I’m getting used to all these 20 milers?  Number 4 down, 1 more to go! 

Weekly recap:  54.56 miles, my highest in a long time.  Maybe even since college. 

Took a much deserved recovery day yesterday, just went and timed the team doing their tempo workout on the track.  Today  – I was going to run 9.5, but then added up the weekly mileage and realized how much I had already run!  So I just ran an easy 4.5 today!  It worked out nicely because my legs still felt a bit tired and sore from Friday, and tomorrow is a speed day at the track, so it was nice to just get out and enjoy the day. 

I know there were a lot of races this weekend – It looks like GirlinMotion had a fantastic run at the Shamrock half in Virginia!  And a shout out to my friend Langston who is running ING in Atlanta!  How is everyone else doing?  I hope you are all having a great day too!

Responses

  1. It was gorgeous this week wasn’t it?!?! Once again I must tell you that you are doing an awesome job! So very proud of you! Have a great week!!

  2. Your track team practices on the weekend! Wow, my kids would laugh in my face if I suggested that. Great job on a super running weekend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

