Posted by: runsinthefamily | March 11, 2010

Oh….

My legs feel trashed.  Ugh- the harder running this week has caught up to me. The plan for tomorrow is easy – the team is doing 30 minutes easy, which sounds just fine to me, especially with the race the next morning.

Today: I ran just over 2 miles before practice, then a warmup with the team, dynamic stretching  – ( love those zombie walks:)  ) then 5X1000 was on tap.  The first one was blah…I could feel how tired and sore my legs felt already, just the cumulative effect of the week I guess.  Plus it seems my legs take one or two reps to get their speed back.  The next two I felt good and strong, and stayed at the front of my group – all the winter miles have made me much stronger than them, they usually have more speed, but at least right now, not as much staying power.  That will change in a week or two I’m sure!  After 3 reps my group was worn out,  so we changed to jogging the curves, sprinting the straightaways to get our legs turning over faster.  Four laps of that, then a cooldown and stretching – with all the faster running this week, plus the nice, warm, fresh air, and I’m ready to conk out!  Off to get youngest DD to bed so I can put up my feet and watch some Big East basketball.

Responses

  1. Wow, I’m tired just from reading that! Let’s hope the weather cooperates on Saturday. Although, I am pretty sure we won’t melt! :). What time do you normally get to the race? If I am reading right the 5 miler starts later (9:45) right? We definitely have to figure out where to meet. I would hate to miss the opportunity to meet you!

    • Hi Jodi! With the parking situation I would love to get there early, but my husband has to work, so I need to drop my youngest off with my parents, and told them 8am. I could drop her off earlier, but it’s a Saturday – I hate to wake her up too early! So I will probably get there around 8:30, or a bit earlier. The 2 mile is first, then the 5 mile – hmm, I would say let’s meet by the portapotties in back, but it’s likely to be crowded! I don’t know what I’ll wear yet, do you? I’m about 5’2″, with dark brown hair, probably in a short pony tail, I’ll figure out what to wear and let you know tomorrow!

  2. I was planning to get there between 8:00 and 8:30. I haven’t decided what I am going to wear yet. Let me look at the weather tomorrow and I can let you know for sure. I am 5’9″ with light brown hair. I tend to wear a thin underarmour headband (white). My hair is not quite shoulder length. There are recent pictures of me on my blog. If it is easier for you feel free to email me at jodihiggins@hotmail.com. All of my emails come directly to my phone so I will be able to respond almost instantly.

    • Sounds good! I’ll email you tomorrow. I should have pics of myself up, but never think to bring a camera! I’ll have to bring my phone on Saturday, I can take pics with that.

  3. Hi! I’m totally stalking your blog now that I saw you are a COACH. Yeah for female coaches! That is awesome that your high school athletes can do that 1000s workout! Wahoo! I about killed mine this week w/ a ladder workout w/ 1200 being the maximum. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks! I’ve been loving reading about your adventures with your team! We have some awesome girls on our team, I’m the assistant XC coach too, it’s really a lot of fun.

  4. It was so nice to meet you today Connie! Great job! I see you placed third in your age group! I ended up running a 42:13 (8:27/mile). I am happy about that! I will be blogging later tonight. Do you happen to know how to link to your blog since I have to share that I got to meeet you! I know on other blogs I have seen the name and you click on it and it takes you to that persons blog.

    • Hi Jodi! It was great to meet you too! Thanks – I was really surprised, I thought there were tons of women ahead of me, I guess they just weren’t in my age group. You did an awesome job pacing, especially with no time on your watch!

      I’ve looked at my blog to see if I could figure it out, I think when I am typing I can click on this little sideways 8 symbol and it will pop up with a box to let me put in a link. Is that what you mean? I really like the blogspot blogs, because of that follower box, I can’t figure out how to get that on this one! If you happen to find out let me know ( or if anyone else out there knows, please leave a comment!)

  5. Great workouts this week! How nice you’re having nice weather. We had a couple glimmers of spring but now all this damn wind and rain. Bah!

    • Marcia, after Friday it turned cold, windy and rainy here! It was so nice while it lasted. We even had “mixed precipitation” last night, but it was around 40 today. I miss the warmth already! Our crocuses are already up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

