Posted by: runsinthefamily | March 10, 2010

Shorts weather at last!

I’m so happy it has been warm here this week – even if it doesn’t last too long, it is nice to have a preview of spring coming!  I thought it was going to rain today for track practice, but instead we had nice partly cloudy skies.  Tomorrow is supposed to be insanely warm – I saw 67° on the forecast!  Crazy.

It has been interesting melding my schedule with the high school track schedule.  Luckily I have been able to run at least 3 miles before meeting them for the workout, which has really helped to keep my mileage up, although I feel ready to go to bed early each night!  The fresh air is helping that too.  Monday I ran 3.39 miles, then did a warm up and 8x300s with the team, and a cool down, for a total of 7.1 miles on my Garmin.  It took a couple reps before my legs “woke up”, so the first few 300s were really slow, but then I was fine, and even felt ready to push the girls on the last few.  I can really see the benefit of high mileage training – if I was a high school runner I would be incredibly strong from all the miles I have been putting in!  Unfortunately I’m quite a bit older than that, 🙂 and training for a marathon… I have to keep reminding myself of that fact!

Tuesday was their recovery day, so once again I ran first, and then ran about 40+ minutes with them – a little faster on the way back, for a total of 8.01 miles.  Core and abs followed, and I’m sore today from that!  I did not keep up with my core exercises enough this winter, and really feel it now.

Today was their long run day, although some of the runners ran with Coach E on Sunday, so got today off.  Again I ran first, this time just over 4 miles,  and then ran 45+ minutes with some of the girls, WL on the way out, and MS on the way back.  Total was 9.83 miles.

Tomorrow is another track day, 1000s this time.  I think I will add on a little, but maybe only 2-3 miles – and then Friday is a recovery day for them, probably an easy 5-6 for me, since the next morning is the St. Malachi 5 mile race.  I will do my 12 miler on Sunday, which means no day off, but I think I will end up taking one of the track days off next week, or running by myself very easy, and then Friday will be the long run – another 20 miles.  Saturday will be my scheduled rest day after that 20!

Since this week is a trial week to see how the training goes, I’m not worried if the mileage isn’t working out quite the way I thought it would.  I don’t think I’ll want to do my 20 miler next week on tired legs from 1000s, if we do them again on Thursdays.  I would like to work in a hill workout, but I’m not sure when – there are a few short hills on our running routes, but I would like to go back to the sledding hill and run up and down like we did earlier in the year.  Since that isn’t exactly what we are planning on using for a track workout, I’m going to have to decide when to work that in myself.  I am wondering if every other week, ( on the not 20 mile weeks) doing it instead of one of the track workouts. ( I can always just help time, instead of running. )  Hmmm – decisions, decisions!

Responses

  1. It was absolutely gorgeous today! I enjoyed all 7 miles I ran today. Sounds like you are doing great getting your workouts in and coaching the team at the same time. That is great. My legs felt good today so I went ahead and registered for the St. Malachi 5 Miler on Saturday. I figure if nothing else I will use it as a training run! Have a great rest of the week! Happy running!


Leave a Reply

Categories

