Posted by: runsinthefamily | March 8, 2010

6 more weeks until Boston!

 

  

 

I finished last week with 53.5 miles, including my third 20 miler.  I can’t believe how fast the marathon is coming!  Only 6 more weeks, which really means only 3 1/2 weeks until I start tapering.  I keep holding my breath that I won’t get sick or injured!  I am feeling pretty good now, really in shape and ready to add some speed work at track practice today.  

Our Boston plans are coming together really nicely too!  We are making a mini family vacation out of it – it’s been over 30 years since my father ran Boston, so he and my mother decided they would like to come and watch.  My brother is also coming in, and it looks like it will be everyone except oldest DS coming, as he will be getting ready for finals right after that date.  My oldest daughter goes to school at Boston College, ( on the marathon route!) and she is actually training with a club from BC who runs the marathon every year to raise money for the Boston College Campus School, a school for students with multiple special needs.  It will be her first marathon, and after watching last year she is really excited!  So it will be lots of fun.  I signed DS#2 up for the BAA 5k on the day before the marathon, which runs a bit on the marathon route and has the same finish line as the marathon.  We are really looking forward to the Expo, and hopefully seeing some elite runners, and then a pasta dinner in the North End and Monday night after the marathon, we are going to try to get some seafood at the same restaurant my brother and I remember going to after my father’s Boston all those years ago!  It will be a definite trip down memory lane.  We were pretty young, I think I was 11 or 12 years old, and my brother would have been 7 or 8, so our memories are a little hazy, but we both remember some of the same things – it was a foggy, rainy day; when the Japanese runners would finish they came up to the floor/balcony of the building we were watching from and beat a drum/gong; and we also remember after the race, at this restaurant my dad was given a free beer!  The things kids remember are really funny.  

How long have you been running?  What are your favorite running memories?

Responses

  1. It sounds like everything is coming together. What a great trip down memory lane you will have. It is wonderful that you will be able to have your family there wtih you! You are going to do great!! Thanks for all the advice today. I am going to see how I feel as the week progresses and then decide what to do on Saturday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

