Posted by: runsinthefamily | February 16, 2010

This and that…

Last week was a slightly different week – the final total was 46.75 miles, and I ran every day instead of having a day off like usual.  Monday was 8 miles on the treadmill at my general aerobic pace ( GA pace) of 9:13/mile,  Tuesday was barely 4 miles in the snow with the high school distance team, Wednesday another 8 on the treadmill, 9:20ish pace, and then came Thursday.  Thursday is another day to run with the high school team, we are off-season training now, they are up to running 6 days, but mostly on their own until the outdoor season starts the beginning of March.  The runs we do depends partly on who shows up that day, and how the weather is, but it always seems like Thursdays are the “harder” day of the two.  Having Thursday be harder doesn’t always work in my favor – if my long run ends up being Friday morning, it means my legs are tired and stiff!  I’m glad I had the race this past Saturday, because that meant Friday was an easy 8 miles, and after the Thursday workout that felt great.

So – the workout.  You have to understand we have lots of snow on the ground, we’ve been getting a little more every day, with no melting at all.  So, Coach E decides to surprise us, and we do a mile and a half warmup loop, and then end up at the high school track.

The track is of course covered in snow.  Nice, deep drifting snow.  Lovely, unblemished by footprints snow.  So what do we do?  Well, 2 400s, 2 200s, and 4 100s of course!  In the snow.  Wow.  Talk about a heart-rate workout – trying to run through 6 inches ( at least!  probably more in places) snow was a killer.  But lots of fun.  And then a nice, easy mile and a half cool down.  After that, the race on Saturday seemed easy! 🙂

I ended the week with 12 miles, on the treadmill, on Sunday.  Nine weeks till Boston!  This week will include a day off ( got an indoor track meet to go to!) and 20 miles on Friday.  I don’t even want to think about what Thursday’s workout might be.  Have a great week!

Responses

  1. Dare I say the track workout actually sounds like fun?!?! :). I ran outside yesterday and the sidewalks weren’t cleared very well at all. I was impressed that I was able to run under a 9 minute mile pace with the mess I was dealing with. Great job last week! I can’t even imagine how excited you are for Boston! You are going to be great. Have a great week of training!

  2. sounds like a great week!

  3. Wow a snowy track workout? Sounds hard. Glad it was fun!

  4. Thanks! It was a lot of fun, but crazy. Today was just easy 30 minutes, with strides at the end – the team goes to a track meet on Saturday, and are hoping to have some good times to make it to the indoor state track meet. So no crazy workout, but I have my 20 miler tomorrow so I’m happy my legs won’t be sore!


Leave a Reply

Categories

