Posted by: runsinthefamily | February 13, 2010

I love the Olympics

I stayed up too late watching the opening ceremonies considering I have a race in the morning!  But honestly, how can you not watch if you are an athlete!  It was beautifully done – I’m not sure which part I liked the best – I think the prairie sequence.  The song by Joni Mitchell and the boy running and flying through the air was just magical.  I’m also inspired by the speech by John Furlong of the Vancouver Olympic committee –

“As the Olympic Cauldron is lit, the unique magic of the Olympic Games will be released upon us.  Magic so rare that it cannot be controlled by borders. The kind of magic that invades the human heart touching people of all cultures and beliefs. Magic that calls for the best that human beings have to offer. Magic that causes the athletes of the world to soar and the rest of us to dream.
Tonight, here, in the glow and wonder of the Flame, we can all aspire to be Olympian.”

I remember a young girl of 9 or 10 who dreamt of running the marathon in the Olympics someday, at a time when there was no marathon yet for women.   While she never quite reached that goal,  she still strives to be the best she can be, to reach her potential.  And that is my hope for all of you.  Have a great run – and a good season.

Responses

  1. I love the Olympics as well. It was great to watch last night. I did fall asleep before it was over though…oops. How did the Chili Bowl go?


Leave a Reply

Categories

