Posted by: runsinthefamily | January 13, 2010

It’s getting warmer!

Yay!  We are finally warming up here in Northeast Ohio.  Today we had sun, blue skies, and the drip, drip sound of icicles melting!  I still ran inside today though – yesterday I ran about 5 miles with the high school kids, and my legs wanted less pounding today – plus I’m hoping the next few days will be all outside.  So today I ran 8 on the treadmill , a 2 mile warmup (and cooldown after)  at 9:13 pace, then I started a series of 6 hills – each 400 meters long, starting at a 2%  incline, and going up a half a percent each time – ending with a 4.5% incline.  I experimented with keeping the same pace – 9:13 – and after each hill I ran a half-mile at no incline for a rest, but kept the same pace.  I need to figure out the length and percent incline of the Newton hills – so I can simulate them!  I do have a hilly long run route with some nice big, long hills – which I will hopefully run on Friday for my 18 miler.  

 Of course the forecast says drizzle/freezing rain for Friday morning, so I will have to wait and see.  I hope it doesn’t come true, because Friday is my birthday!  I get to go up to a new age-group! – well, for some races anyway.  It helped me to qualify for Boston.  Since I turn 45 before the race day this year, I was able to qualify for the 45-49 age-group when I ran the Cleveland Marathon last May.  Yay for getting older!

Responses

  1. Hope you had a great birthday today. How’s was the distance run today?

  2. Hey Jodi, Thanks! It went great – but a busy day. Finally got to post again – see up above!


Leave a Reply

Categories

