Posted by: runsinthefamily | January 12, 2010

Week 15 recap – & more

Sunday was a rest day for me!  Yay for rest, I felt like I needed it.  I ran 45 miles for  week 15 of Boston training.  This week is scheduled to be 51, but it may get cut down slightly – I’ve been feeling really tired the past couple days, and I know there is a stomach virus going around the schools – no one in my family has it yet ( knock on wood) but I’m going to try and get extra rest this week anyway.  I’m thinking of starting to take iron again – I took it daily last spring/summer/fall, only stopping when I was sick with the flu ( which turned into pneumonia!) this past October/November.  I had no reason for not starting it up again, I wasn’t running as much mileage coming back from the pneumonia and just felt like I didn’t really need it.  Since I am really starting the buildup now for the marathon I probably should start taking it again!  Do any of you take iron supplementation?  Here is a really good and informative article on it. I should say I have been tested, and my iron/ferritin is always on the low end,  so my doctor is fine with me taking it when I feel I need it ( which really should be all the time. )  I also take thyroid hormone replacement for Hashimoto’s Disease – and I have to be careful to space out the iron from my thyroid medicine so the iron won’t interfere.

I also started taking MSM and Glucosamine/Chondroitin after reading about it in Girl in Motion’s blog here.  At first I didn’t notice any difference, but after a month or so I realized my left heel, where I have a chronic problem, wasn’t bothering me as much anymore!  I have a Haglund’s deformity on my heel ( sounds awful, doesn’t it ) which always causes problems, especially when I’m doing speedwork , and I usually take ibuprophen after almost every hard run – but since starting the MSM and Gluc/Chond. combo I hardly ever take ibuprophen anymore.  So placebo or not, it seems to help me!

Responses

  1. Hey there! Thrilled to hear you’re getting some benefit from the Glucosamine combo, especially since you’ve been dealing with a chronic problem (and yes, Haglund does have a certain ugly ring to it, lol). If I was on the low end with the ferretin, I’d definitely be taking it, I’ve read a lot of blogger/runners who are really helped by it and felt a lack of energy without. Since you’re on the low side and your doc said yes, go for it! Can’t afford to lose a bit of energy while training for Boston! 🙂 Happy training to you.

    • Thanks Flo! (big wave hi) Good luck with your training too!

  2. Definitely scale back on the miles if you feel run down. Like Flo said, you don’t want to lose energy while training for Boston! I too suffer with low iron levels from time to time. It sounds like you are doing everything you can do stay healthy and well rested. To answer your question on my blog, I am not sure if I am running the Chili Bowl on Feb 13th. I am doing the Tackle the Tower stairclimb on Feb 6th. I just need to make sure I don’t over do it. Especially since Saturday’s are one of my rest days and Sunday’s are my long runs. Any thoughts on that? What would you suggest? Much luck with the marathon training.

  3. Wow, the Tackle the Tower! That sounds like fun. Do you do a stairmaster for training, or just regular running? You are right, two weeks in a row might be too much, especially since it’s still winter and always tricky to fit everything in. I’m struggling with that now too – there is a half-marathon in Youngstown the week before the St. Malachi run that I would really like to do, but I love the St. Malachi run and don’t want to skip that! But again that’s racing two weeks in a row. I certainly did it when I was younger, but now it would mean sacrificing a long run- I don’t think that’s going to work. Good luck with your training too – how is it going?


Leave a Reply

Categories

