Posted by: runsinthefamily | January 7, 2010

Core Work

How many of you do core exercises?  I’m noticing I really need to do alot more now that I am an “older” runner!  If/when I keep up with my exercises I feel so much better, but when I am a slacker…. 😦  I have a crunch and plank routine I got from the head xc coach I work with, ( that I really should be doing every day – but haven’t lately – sigh) and since I am always having problems with my piriformis/hamstring/hips/ everything else! I started doing the hip strengthening routine from the December 2009 Running Times issue.  I’ve found a link to it http://www.runningtimes.com/Article.aspx?ArticleID=18359&PageNum=1      Since I’ve started this routine, I’ve noticed that when I do run in the snow, my hips aren’t sore afterwards!  I always used to get incredibly sore from the slipping.  ( hence the screw shoes).  So I’m going to keep it up.  I’ve also started the Hundred pushup challenge   www.hundredpushups.com – I def. need to work that upper body!  So, what do you do for core/strengthening?  Any suggestions?

Responses

  1. I also do lots of plank work, I’ll wear ankle weights and lift and hold each leg up while in plank. I go to a weekly muscle conditioning class–they work me harder than I work alone.

    I think weak hips is fairly prevalent among runners.

    thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Thanks Teamarcia! I used to do a yoga class too, which I think helped with core strengthening, but I haven’t had time lately. I need to find a good yoga dvd to do at home!


Leave a Reply

Categories

