Posted by: runsinthefamily | March 26, 2011

Spring, where are you?

It is cold here in Northeast Ohio – it went down into the teens last night!  This is the end of March, right?  Next week is April!  It is Track season!  I am so looking forward to warmer weather, heck, even the 40s at this point!

Since coming home on Monday, I’ve been running with the track team every day.  A bit gingerly, since I can still feel my hamstring, but I am running!  The cold weather and especially the cold wind isn’t helping, but with being careful, especially on starts and run outs, the running is going okay.  Tuesday was an easy 4+ miles, ( although at a faster pace than just plain easy), Wednesday was a track workout, a ladder, but cut short due to cold, wind, and rain, Thursday was their long run day, so an hour plus, and Friday was an easy almost 5 miles.    Then, today was a tempo workout.

I was a little worried about being able to run the workout today, because I could feel my leg when I woke up, and the run being in the morning rather than an afterschool time didn’t help either.  But we were very careful about warming up, and doing drills and stretching, all of which helped tremendously.  Coach E asked me to pace Sara, who has been working so hard all winter and getting faster, and I was a little worried I would not be able to stay with her – we had 3×1 mile at between 8:30 and 8:40 pace, which ordinarily would have been just fine, but between my leg and this darn sinus cold still hanging on I just wasn’t sure.

After run outs, we lined up and took off.  The pace felt good – I was worried we were too slow, but the first 400 showed we were actually too fast, and I was worried about wearing her out when we were just starting!  So I carefully eased it back, and the 800 showed we were still fast, but better.  Most importantly she was able to talk a bit about the wind, so I knew she was okay. Our first mile ended at 8:10 ~  faster than she had run for her cross-country pace last fall!  Our next mile ~8:12, and then, in spite of being tired, and the wind really kicking up, our last mile was 8:04!  I am so proud of her ~ she has come so far in one year, from a best of 26:55 for a 5k as a freshman, to now easily running just over 8 min/mile for an early season tempo!  She has worked so hard all this cold, hard, winter ~ I hope she will have a great track season!  Under 7 for a mile, here she comes!

Responses

  1. Hi there!

    Just wanted to say you have a wonderful blog :) I happened to find your link via a post you left on runners world discussing pump pump! Well, I’m a pretty keen runner and I am supposed to be running the NY marathon later this year. Problem is, I wore dress shoes for a couple of days in a row which has left me with what I think is haglund’s deformity :( Obviously I am really gutted about this as I have also just spent the last year recovering from a patella tracking disorder. Anyways, I am rambling a bit, but is there any advice that you might have? 31, male.

    Oh, I actually uploaded a couple of photos of my heel injury to Flickr:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/21503963@N04/5546386885/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/21503963@N04/5546967794

    Any advice much appreciated and keep up the great work on the site :)

    Cheers!

    Christopher

    • Hi Christopher, if it is a haglund’s deformity, you should go to a podiatrist – the orthotic my podiatrist made helped tremendously. Also, make sure you stretch your calves really well – that helps! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

